top of page
Writer's pictureINDU Kumar

[Divorce by Collaboration ]

[Divorce by Collaboration ]


I had a case appearing before me for Mediation. Both parties were represented. The parties had a very long marriage of 40 years with adult children. Both Counsels put forward the best interest of their clients.


I then asked Counsels to help work out their total assets and liabilities. Then the remainder was divided by 2. It was hardly anything, and what they have would not allow them to purchase a house each.


I asked one party what is the plan is after divorce? Where are you going to live? The reply was, I am going to live with my son. I asked the other party the same question and said I don't know what I would do.


I then turned to the Counsels and asked them do they want to go for trial or would they like to re-look at their positions and come to something that they both can live with, saving parties cost and saving them a lot of effort in trial preparation.


I was delighted that all parties decided to have a relook at their positions and come back. I am so thankful to the Counsels.

4 views0 comments

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page