top of page
Writer's pictureINDU Kumar

Divorce-Ancillary

I was mediating a case of divorce. The Plaintiff and the Defendant were unrepresented.


We arrived at the disposal of marital property, and the parties wanted to transfer the property with a full refund of CPF. I asked the other party whether the funds are there for the transfer? Whose is going to finance the house? Have you checked if you are eligible for the loan?

The response was not sure. I shared with the parties to go back and do their homework on finances and think collaboratively. I urged them to consider the impact on their lives on all options that they came up.


As their marriage is relatively long, I raised the question on non-financial contributions of the spouse. Both parties appeared loss. I explained to them what it was and shared with them what the norms were and how some of the experience that I had with other couples. I also urge them to go online or to attend free legal clinic so that they can get clarity on their rights, responsibilities and obligations.


They decided to come back for further mediation. I am glad parties decided to go and explore these issues jointly.

14 views2 comments

2 Comments


INDU Kumar
INDU Kumar
Jan 07, 2021

Thank you so much. Would you like to share an experience that you had in resolving a dispute? I would love to hear it. 🙇🏽‍♂️

Like

hrdesignoffice
Jan 07, 2021

Hi Indu, though I am not a Family Mediator, but the nuance of thought on your part is very encouraging to the parties concerned to guide them to rethink how to resolve the issue at hand which they might not have thought about it in the first place. Kudos!

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page