top of page
Writer's pictureINDU Kumar

Collaborative Divorce Settlements

Hello,


Divorce is hard. It changes the mind frame of parties. It becomes even more challenging to resolve if parties are not collaborating.


I am delighted that today, I had a settlement and another potential settlement.


In the first case, I talked to Defendant about the importance of him filing his documents. Plaintiff was represented.


We had some discussion and shared some issues which I wanted parties to look carefully, especially in cases where they would have to dispose of the marital property and consider carefully. Defendant to make good plans on his new finances after divorce. Plaintiff’s attorney requested a Further Mediation date as he felt that the issues could be resolved by the parties amicably. I am keeping my fingers crossed on this.


In the other case, which I managed to settle, parties were unrepresented. We examined openly the offers made as well as payment plans. Plaintiff, in this case, increased his offer by over 200%, and Defendant accepted the offer.

3 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page