top of page
Writer's pictureINDU Kumar

Collaboration with Counsels

Updated: Mar 22, 2021

20/3/2021


[ Collaborative Mediation ]


Last week I had an opportunity to mediate with couples who are planning to get separated. In one particular case I managed, we made headway in the right direction with Counsels, parties, and Mediator worked together.


Counsels that represented the parties but had difficulties when working out access. Both parents loved their toddler, very commendable, but parties were fixed with their positions.


I posed some questions for them to consider if their demands were reasonable? I asked them to consider their perspectives if the proposal was reversed? I pointed out that parents are responsible for their child's upbringing and not their Counsels or anyone else. The couple slowly and gradually opened up, started talking to each other about their child. They began to listen to each other and making adjustments. They agreed to work things out and put up proposals to their Counsels regarding all ancillary matters. I was very pleased.


Counsels agreed to further mediation. I was glad, and I hope reasonable consent will be reached.

5 views1 comment

1 Comment


INDU Kumar
INDU Kumar
Mar 22, 2021


Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page