top of page
Writer's pictureINDU Kumar

Authority to Settle - Do they have it?

Updated: Dec 19, 2020

“Do you have the authority to settle?”


The above statement is very common to all Mediators. The natural response we get is ” Yes “; occasionally, I have come across situations during mediation that this is not true. Most often, these are representatives of the organisation that has been sent to take part in Mediation.


Does this help the organisation? In my view, it makes me think if the organisation cares about its customers?🤔 I also empathise with the representative who shares his thoughts and suddenly begins to sway when they can’t negotiate and sometimes say silly things. I believe this action also affects the organisation reputation as well. Don't you?


This reminds me of a conversation that I had with an experienced mediator who shared that if the organisation sends a representative, most likely they would not consent.

I hope more organisations take the opportunity of Mediation to listen and understand the customer/s and find an amicable resolution.

9 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page